Chief Sam Onyishi, Chairman/founder, Peace Mass Transit; Govermor Dapo Abiodun of Ogun state, Chief Jude Onyedum, CEO, Bravo Foams; Rtd. Gen. Lonsdale Adeoye; Tim Akano, CEO, New Horizons Systems Ltd; Dr. Daniel Moses, Property Wealth Corporation; and others have been conferred with The Top10 Magazine Excellence Awards for their outstanding accomplishments in their respective endeavours in 2022.

The award ceremony took place at the prestigious Ikeja Sheraton Hotel, Lagos, on December 10, 2022.

Chief Onyishi emerged as the magazine’s Man of the Year 2022 in recognition of his accomplishments in the road transport operation as well as his recent foray into the educational sector; Gov. Dapo Abiodun received Governor of the Year award in recognition of his infrastructural development of Ogun state; Chief Onyedum was also named as the Business Person of the Year in recognition of his contribution to the foam industry in Nigeria, while Rtd. Gen. Adeoye and Akano were honoured as Philanthropist of the Year and Champion of Youth Empowerment of the Year, respectively.

Other winners include: Dr. Daniel Moses (Diaspora Nigerian Business Icon of the Year) in recognition of his business exploits at the global scene; Dr. Ibrahim Salau (Diaspora Nigerian Professional of the Year) in recognition of his contribution to the global aviation sector. Others are Dr. Femi Hamzat (Most Complementary Deputy Governor of the Year) in recognition of his exceptionally supportive role to Governor Sanwo-Olu; Lanre Messan (Start-up Builder of the Year), Ayodeji Megbope (Champion of Women Empowerment of the Year), Dr. Ibukun Adebayo (Real Estate Female Leader of the Year), Dr. Mark Akhabue, (Integrity Business Person of the Year), Abiodun Olufemi (Electrical Cable Merchant of the Year), and Tuoyo Dudu (Young Business Person of the Year).

Leading the list of corporate winners are Zenith bank plc (Diaspora Banking Leader of the Year), UBA (Global Financial Brand of the Year), Dreamcity (Real Estate Company of the year). Others are Capital Luxury Group (Luxury Company of the Year), Adeptal Ltd (Company of the Year), Lord Echendu Foundation (Humanitarian Organization of the Year), and First Class Citizen (Garment & Branding Company of the Year).

The Top 10 Excellence Awards is an annual event that celebrates people and organizations that attain excellence in their respective endeavours.
Speaking at the event, the magazine’s publisher and editor-in-chief, Mr. Tony Iji noted that the annual award is aimed at celebrating outstanding personalities and organisations that have made the difference in various endeavours in a particular year. He said, “this is in line with the core value of our publication, which is to celebrate excellence and those who attain excellence in the various sectors of the society”. He said the award selection was carried out by a panel of jury which found the awardees worthy of celebration.

Speaking, Chief Onyishi while narrating his humble beginning said: “If not on merit, there’s nothing that would bring me here. I started a business with the sum of N1,200 selling fairly used clothes around 1985 before I delved into the transportation sector in my 100 level days in the University of Nigeria, Nsukka, Enugu State, with two buses in 1994, and by the end of my Bachelor’s programme I had 45 buses plying the interstate routes of the country. “Presently, we have over 4,000 bus fleets fully operational in the transit business”, he stated.

He implores Nigerians to be steadfast and determined to make an impact in society as this can only happen when individuals take bold steps and pray for the actualization of their goals.
Dignitaries present at the award include the Ogun state Governor who was represented by the Commissioner of Information, Abdulwaheed Odusile; Managing Director of May & Baker, Patrick Ajah; Group Managing Director C&I Leasing plc, Ugoji Lenin Ugoji; Chief Executive Officer M. Chris Communications, Christian Mkpogu; CEO Habito Sports Co. Ltd, Chief Macaulay Okonkwo; CEO Smartek Appliances Ltd, Mr. Festus Ugwoke; Ayo Arowolo, a renowned financial journalist; Ramon Nasir, Head, Corporate Communications, UBA plc; and other captains of industries and entrepreneurs.